top of page
  • Writer's pictureKenna Rose

No Onion? No Garlic? WTF

I know right? Black and vegan with no ONIONS OR GARLIC? It's been an interesting transition to be honest. Let's start with why i don't eat these incredibly delicious things in the first place.


Trigger warning: Dieting



I've always had digestive issues for as long as i can remember. I would constantly plan what time i would eat, what i would eat and when not to eat because i knew i would be in pain. I wouldn't eat until late lunch time, eat super light then a large portion at dinner. Some days i would sneak and only eat a big portion of dinner then be in pain all night. It was incredibly stressful, especially when i started working or wanted to go out. One day i didn't eat all day, i was in so much pain that my coworker noticed how i strange i was acting and asked if i needed a hug (my mood was that different), i went home, tried to binge on pasta and the pain was so bad i decided i couldn't live like this anymore.


I had to change, something or everything.


I started researching and came to conclusion that i had IBS symptoms and i wanted to try the low fodmap diet.


DISCLAIMER: I am not a doctor, this is just my opinion and if you are experiencing any long term pain, you should contact your doctor. This is just what worked for me, i usually go for more natural methods of healing.


Now, when i started off i was incredibly happy with results, i had very little to no pain. I added a digestive enzyme and probiotic gummies to my diet and had regular bowel movements with no pain. I ate mostly rice with veggies and tofu, pad thai with green onions instead of regular, salads with homemade dressing, gluten free pasta with onion and garlic free sauce, sandwiches with sourdough bread. Then i got too comfortable and kind of lazy.


Here's a summary of the low fodmap diet:

There are certain fruits, vegetables and other things that can cause flare ups and you should avoid them entirely including:

  • Onions

  • Garlic

  • Cabbage

  • Broccoli

  • Mangoes

  • Apples

  • Pears

  • Watermelon

  • Cherries

  • Blackberries

Wheat and rye

  • Breads

  • Cereals

  • Pastas

  • Crackers

  • Pizza

This is not a full list at all but some things i decided to eat anyways were avocados, biscuits & gravy, cabbage, broccoli and sandwich bread. 🤦🏾‍♀️

One weekend of eating these things caused a flare up so bad i couldn't sleep at night and was so bloated that i looked pregnant. It was so painful and i worked myself up so bad that i made myself nauseous.I had to do castor oil packs every night for 3 nights. I also listen to binaural beats every night still. This made me go back, think about what i really want to feel like and how a few bites of food was not worth that much pain. So after a few days of just broth (with no onions or garlic) and getting back into a routine i felt better. I spent my birthday inside with one drink and a nice soup.


I promised myself i would make my low fodmap diet work for me and not stray away like i did that regretful weekend.


I've been a lot better ever since, my parents gifted me with dressings, sauces and snacks from fody foods which has helped me a lot. I'm working on myself everyday and i'm learning and growing.

I look forward to showing you my recipes!


I hope you enjoyed this piece, l'll be posting a lot more!


 

58 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

I'm Back!

Hi! I've been gone for a minute but I'm back with more content, recipes and other things! I'm super excited to share more things with you guys! Stay Tuned!

bottom of page