top of page
  • Writer's pictureKenna Rose

How i Found Out i Was a Witch...You'll Be Surprised



I'm not one of those witches who's grandma and her grandma passed down ancient healing remedies and secret spells. I discovered i was a witch by watching a Youtube video.


Yes. That's right.


I was on Youtube at 1am, not able to sleep like usual, mindlessly scrolling social media and playing Candy Crush when i decided to watch Dr.Phil on Youtube (don't judge please). I scrolled past a video called ''15 Signs You Are A Witch'' by November Sage TV. Now, keep in mind, it's about 1:30am and i was like ''ill just watch 5 minutes of this,''


15 Minutes later i'm dead-ass convinced i was BORN A WITCH.


First of all: My parents have always used more natural ways of healing, we have crystals, sage,tarot card decks and incense all over the house. So i'm over here like ''ITS IN MY BLOOD IM GONNA BE THE NEXT SUPREME''.( I was also watching American Horror Story: Coven at the time). But i had no idea where to start, so i go back on Youtube the next night around the same time and go down a rabbit hole of videos saying: ''YOU NEED A CULDRAN, A WAND, EVERY CRYSTAL IN EXISTENCE, A GIANT BOOK WITH DISTRESSED PAGES TO WRITE SPELLS IN, A CRYSTAL BALL, etc, etc. So i get completely overwhelmed and don't research witchcraft for 2-3 weeks because i psyched myself out so much.


Then i was watching trash tv one afternoon and see this crystal identification book we have on the shelf and grab it. Then i realize: if i'm gonna do this i'm have to commit and the best way for me to commit to anything is to tell my sisters because they'll constantly clown me for quitting. So i say out loud



''I'm gonna become a witch.''


Of course my 13 and 14 year old sisters are like ''okayyyy....'' and on that afternoon i spent hours reading exemplore.com and watching Anais Alexandre and Harmony Nice on Youtube. I had also DM'ed one of my instagram mutuals who i knew was a witch.


I was committed this time.


I put on Brujas by Princess Nokia, grabbed a small folding table, a cloth from my mom's room, a dollar store candle, an angle shaped opal crystal, a goddess tarot deck from my mom and my alter was set. The first thing i did was make an intention jar. I used an old mason jar and wrote down that i wanted both my parents to get new jobs because their current jobs were taking too much time and energy out of them. And low and behold, a few weeks later they both had new job opportunities. The key to these jars (for me) was to act like these opportunities already existed in my reality. I didn't write :


''I hope mom and dad get new jobs''

I did write:


''I am so grateful that mom and dad have new jobs and can spend more time at home and make more money''.


When they told me they were both changing jobs i was shook as you can imagine. This was it for me, this was the moment i realized thinking positively and a little bit of magic works.


I also regularly use herbs when cooking to bring a little luck or a little positivity if i need it in my life. And when i'm feeling a little sick or down i meditate or do a little healing hands spell.


I still don't have a giant crystal collection or even my first wand or athame yet but i'm on my way there. For now, sprinkling herbs around the house and candle magic is working for me but i will keep learning.



 

144 views0 comments
bottom of page